1294612946People have already signed.
You too can join in!

IKEA must stop degrading and destroying Romania's protected forests!

The investigative report "IKEA. Smart Outside, Rotten Inside" documents the conduct of IKEA as a major wood consumer and of the IKEA-affiliated Ingka Investments as Romania's largest private forest owner with over 51,000 ha of forest. The investigation conducted by Agent Green and Bruno Manser Fonds reveals a consistent pattern of destructive logging and poor forestry practices in the forests owned by Ingka and those feeding the IKEA supply chain in Romania. Many of these forests are located within or near Natura 2000 sites and other protected areas.

The documented issues include large-scale clearcuts in high biodiversity forests, intensive commercial logging in protected areas and even old-growth forests without environmental impact assessments in breach of EU law, a general lack of natural forest regeneration after logging, and thus severe habitat degradation and endangerment of species.

As the largest buyer and retailer of wood in the world and Romania’s largest private forest owner, the Inter IKEA Group and the Ingka Group should know better. They should stop contributing to the decimation of Romania's forests and start being part of the solution. Our demands to the furniture giant are included in the report.

Report: IKEA. Smart Outside, Rotten Inside

Report Annexes 2 and 3

Video (RO): Investigators at work

Help to stop the ongoing destruction of Europe's most precious forests and sign our petition to IKEA. Destructive logging in Romania's primary, old-growth and other high conservation value forests, protected or not, must stop now!

1294612946Personen haben bereits unterschrieben.
Mach auch Du mit!

IKEA muss die Waldzerstörung in Rumäniens Naturschutzgebieten stoppen!

Der investigative Bericht "IKEA. Smart Outside, Rotten Inside" dokumentiert das Verhalten von IKEA als grossem Holzverbraucher und dem mit IKEA verbundenen Unternehmen Ingka Investments als Rumäniens grösstem privaten Waldbesitzer mit über 51'000 Hektaren. Die Untersuchung zeigt das Muster des zerstörerischen Holzeinschlags in den Wäldern, die Ingka gehören und die die IKEA-Lieferkette in Rumänien versorgen. Viele dieser Wälder befinden sich innerhalb oder in der Nähe von Naturschutzgebieten, hauptsächlich Natura-2000-Gebieten.

Zu den dokumentierten Problemen gehören grossflächige Kahlschläge artenreicher Wälder, intensiver Holzeinschlag in Schutzwäldern und sogar in alten Waldbeständen ohne Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung. Hinzu kommen Probleme wie die fehlende natürliche Waldregeneration nach der Abholzung und die damit einhergehende Zerstörung von Habitaten und die Bedrohung von Arten.

Als weltweit grösster Käufer und Einzelhändler von Holz und als Rumäniens grösster privater Waldbesitzer sollten sich die Inter-IKEA-Gruppe bzw. die Ingka-Gruppe anders verhalten. Sie sollten aufhören, zur Waldzerstörung in Rumänien beizutragen und anfangen, diese Zerstörung zu bekämpfen. Unsere Forderungen an den Möbelriesen sind im Bericht enthalten.

Bericht (EN): IKEA. Smart Outside, Rotten Inside ("IKEA – Aussen fix und innen nix")

Anhänge 2 und 3 des Berichts

Video (RO): Untersuchungen im Feld

Helfen Sie mit, die Zerstörung der wertvollsten Wälder Europas zu stoppen und unterschreiben Sie unsere Petition an IKEA. Der zerstörerische Holzeinschlag in Rumäniens Ur- und Naturwäldern und anderen Wäldern mit hohem Naturschutzwert, ob geschützt oder nicht, muss jetzt aufhören!